Triffid Alley, Hampstead

 

Triffid Alley

TRIFFID ALLEY is a narrow alleyway behind a number of shops in South End Road, Hampstead. The entrance to the alley is in Pond Street where the memorial sign, provided by the South End Green Association, is located. The sign was unveiled by David Ketterer on Sunday, 24 May 2015 in front of a group of well-wishers. The unveiling of the Triffid Alley sign, which is the only known memorial to John Wyndham in the UK, was the culmination of an extended campaign to see the author recognised for his contribution to literature. While his enduring legacy is undoubtedly his works of fiction, which are still in print more than 60 years after their first publication, the naming of TRIFFID ALLEY is a fitting memorial to the man who gave the world ‘Triffids’.


Contains Ordnance Survey data © Crown copyright
and database right 2014

A Triffid Alley Timeline

c1890s

Warwick Mansions was built at 37 Pond Street, Hampstead; it includes the entrance to an alley which runs behind Nos. 1 to 11 South End Road.

 

1951

John Wyndham’s The Day of the Triffids was published including the reference to the alley.

 

1999

David Ketterer re-read The Day of the Triffids for the first time since around 1952 and annotated his 1981 Penguin reprint copy on page 142 with 'South End Green – site of Orwell’s bookshop.'

 

April 2011

A proposal was submitted to English Heritage for the erection of a Blue Plaque at the Penn Club, Bedford Place to commemorate John Wyndham’s work. He lived at the club from 1939 to 1963 and it was there that he wrote many of his major works.

 

Nov 2011

English Heritage rejected the proposal for a Blue Plaque as: ‘The enduring success of Wyndham’s fiction was acknowledged, but it was felt that the Penn Club was not a suitable address at which to site a plaque, given the large number of individuals who have been associated with the club.’ This was the third time English Heritage had knocked back the proposal that John Wyndham should be recognised by the installation of a Blue Plaque.

 

Summer 2014

David Ketterer realised that naming the then unnamed alley in Hampstead as TRIFFID ALLEY would be a fitting public tribute to John Wyndham.

 

Summer 2014

David Ketterer sent an email to the South End Green Association (SEGA) proposing the naming of TRIFFID ALLEY.

 

September 2014

David Kitchen, Chair of SEGA, responded that SEGA would be interested in more detail

 

October 2014

David Ketterer prepared TRIFFID ALLEY - A Rationale for SEGA


Click to view as PDF

26 November 2014

Camden New Journal ran the story Hampstead alley to be named after horror novel The Day of the Triffids.

 

27 November 2014

High & Ham ran the story Alley tribute to Day of the Triffids


Click to view as PDF

December 2014

SEGA tracked down the property owners and requested permission to erect the sign.

 

January 2015

The owners of Warwick Mansions ‘agrees and supports’ the proposal to name the alley.

 

March 2015

Date set for the unveiling ceremony at TRIFFID ALLEY


Click to view as PDF

April 2015

TRIFFID ALLEY plaque designed.

 

May 2015

Plaque manufactured by Aspect Signs & Engraving.

 

24 May 2015

Unveiling of TRIFFID ALLEY plaque.


Click to view

29 May 2016

Anniversary celebration of the naming of TRIFFID ALLEY


Click to view as PDF

29 October 2017

Belated second anniversary celebration of the naming of TRIFFID ALLEY


Click to view as PDF